ko
English EN French FR Spanish ES German DE Chinese (Simplified) CN Japanese JA Korean KO

我们最新的

当您的流程失控时

 

当您的流程失控时...

无论您是要建立生产过程以实现一致,可重复的输出,还是要制造出在每种情况下都必须绝对完美的产品,您都知道当过程失控并且情况变得更糟时,可能会产生混乱。

您可能会想起最近历史上的事件,这些事件一发不可收拾,对这些知名品牌造成了严重破坏:

2016年底,三星公司发现其手机电池的制造缺陷导致其自燃起火,从而暂停了其广受欢迎的Galaxy手机的销售。

2010年,定位为环保品牌的石油巨头BP看到其在墨西哥湾的Deepwater Horizo​​n石油钻井平台发生爆炸,炸死11名工人,对野生动植物造成了不计其数的破坏,并破坏了该地区的渔业和旅游业多年来。 该事件被认为是美国历史上最严重的环境灾难。

在1980年代初期,芝加哥及其周边地区有XNUMX人死于食用额外剂量的氰化钾致死量的特强泰诺胶囊。 在接下来的几个月中,强生推出了新的防篡改包装,该包装已成为所有非处方药的行业标准。

这些公司能避免这种灾难吗? 在某些情况下,机会是有可能的。 毫无疑问,他们将不得不依靠更有效的过程控制-涉及主动过程监视的控件,当监视工具表明存在问题时,该过程将调用程序以快速采取措施。

出色的工艺设计使有形与无形之间达到平衡。

在初始流程设计阶段,重要的是平衡性能,可制造性和可重复性所需的可衡量结果与人类安全和品牌声誉的无形但无价的变量之间的平衡。

例如,在采矿和石油行业中,有效的泄漏检测系统的价值是什么? 答案在于对人类生命和环境的重视。

和制药业? 因为制药公司不仅要保证产品的保质期,而且要保证产品活性成分的功效,这是至关重要的,所以痕量气体检测方法可检测包装中的小孔或裂缝有多重要?

并且,请考虑诸如生物加工,食品和饮料制造以及环境分析等行业的成本。 现代的实时样品可以立即提醒制​​造商产量,质量或一致性方面的问题,并使他们能够在现场更改关键的工艺参数。 依靠实时采样,当立即解决质量问题时,整批昂贵的生物材料或食物都不会浪费。

不只是本杰明一家。

当然,成本也是设计方程式中的重要因素。 但是,从长远来看,通过采购较便宜的组件来节省金钱可能会事与愿违–通过增加人身伤害,降低产量,生产劣质产品或损害您的品牌声誉。 数十年来,莫特(Mott)与原始设备制造商(OEM)合作,为实时采样设备,气体检测设备和许多其他具有挑战性的应用设计定制的过滤和流量控制组件。 多年来,当我们遇到无法克服的质量或性能问题时,我们的一些长期客户最初选择了低成本供应商。

最大的雪崩由最小的运动触发。

它多久发生一次? 您设计了一个流程,试点模型就完美地表现了……但是,当您着手建立全面的生产模型时,翻译中会丢失一些东西。 当您从原型扩展到生产并无法按预期执行时,您需要一个可以帮助您进行故障排除的合作伙伴-帮助您按时按预算进行,并实现预期的性能结果。

这就是为什么我们依靠统计过程控制来度量,监视和控制过程。 六个Sigma标准的流程(每百万机会产生的缺陷数量少于3.4)已成为标准,并非例外。 而且,考虑到商业飞行或医疗的关键任务性质,即使这个数字似乎也很高。 在莫特,我们将多个检查点纳入我们的制造过程中,在此过程中我们以数字方式跟踪规格的上限和下限。 这不仅可以确保最高质量,而且还可以确保进度按计划进行,并且可以降低成本,因为任何有缺陷的产品都会在流程的早期被发现。

采用增材制造技术可大大提高设计灵活性,但同时会引入一系列全新的过程控制参数。 因此,要获得一致的零件质量,监控关键参数(例如粉末特性,激光功能和支撑结构)至关重要。 引入复杂的流体路径和专有功能,例如用于过滤和流量控制的多孔设计,而我们正在谈论大学级流程控制! 当工程师在单个物料清单零件中看到这种类型的复杂性时,任何工程师的“ spidey-senses”都会被点燃!

因此,无论您是从过程中过滤出有价值的催化剂,还是卫星需要让氙流将其推入太空,或者喷头必须将精确量的氮气释放到您的时尚新饮料,过滤器或流量控制组件中选择会严重影响您的整个过程。

一个改变即将来临。

一件事可以肯定–事情会改变。 无论您是设计全新的流程还是改进旧的流程,您都在不断进行检查以确保您不仅坚持质量标准,而且在发展过程中遵守所有法规和安全标准。 而且,当然,您一直在努力追求下一代性能的极限。

作为创新者和技术专家,我们犯下的最大罪恶之一是对市场的新变化反应得不够快。 目前,我们已牢牢扎根于工业4.0,这是工业革命的新阶段,它重新定义了使用互连,自动化,机器学习和实时数据的可能性。

工业4.0有望大大提高速度和准确性。 Mott功能的核心是使用久经考验的流量控制设备和过滤器建模来影响自动化系统的准确性和精度的能力。 我们利用3D打印组件的功能为您的流程添加新功能,从而突破了运动学的界限。 我们将与您并肩合作,以改善您的流程并帮助您领导市场。

我们不仅仅是过滤和流量控制设备的漂亮面孔。

我们明白。 在构建过程时,您需要考虑很多事情-过滤或流量控制组件只是一个更大难题中的一小部分。 但是我们在Mott的工程师也具有专业知识和经验,可以协助该过程的其他部分。 我们处理所有类型的化学药品和流体应用-从精密的半导体制造应用到难以置信的复杂航空航天应用,再到最先进的静态混合应用。 我们著名的过滤测试实验室随时为您服务; 利用它来进行深入的应用程序分析并确定最佳的过程操作参数。

我们的3D打印专业知识使我们能够以几乎任何配置定制打印多孔过滤器和流量控制设备-甚至我们生产的多孔和固体组件都可以协同工作。

当我们沮丧地试图将现成的,批量生产的流体控制器应用于他们复杂,高精度,关键任务的产品时,我们已经成功地与数百家公司的工程师和产品经理合作。

我们敦促您在下次开发最先进的过程时考虑使用Mott,该过程要求始终如一的,可重复的输出和完美的质量。 无论是现在还是将来,您的产品,声誉和品牌都值得您信赖的合作伙伴。

您想要一个创新合作伙伴来帮助您应对下一个挑战吗? 立即与我们联系。

en
English EN French FR Spanish ES German DE Chinese (Simplified) CN Japanese JA Korean KO

Our Latest

When Your Process Goes Out of Control

When your process goes out of control…

Whether you’re establishing a production process to achieve consistent, repeatable output or manufacturing a product that has to be absolutely perfect in every instance, you know the mayhem that can ensue when processes go out of control and things take a turn for the worse.

You’ll likely recall events in recent history that spiraled out of control and wreaked havoc on these highly reputable brands:

In late 2016, Samsung suspended sales of its popular Galaxy phones when the company discovered that a manufacturing defect in the phones’ batteries were causing them to spontaneously burst into flames.

In 2010, oil giant BP, which had positioned itself as an environmentally responsible brand, saw its Deepwater Horizon oil rig in the Gulf of Mexico explode, killing 11 workers, causing untold damage to wildlife, and destroying the region’s fishing and tourism businesses for years to come. The event is deemed the worst environmental disaster in U.S. history.

In the early 1980s, seven people in and around Chicago died after consuming Extra-Strength Tylenol capsules that had been laced with lethal doses of potassium cyanide. In the months following, Johnson & Johnson introduced new tamper-proof packaging that has become the industry standard for all over-the-counter medications.

Could these companies have averted such disasters? In some cases, chances are likely. Undoubtedly, they would have had to rely on more effective process control – controls involving active process monitoring that invoked procedures for quick action when monitoring tools indicated something was amiss.

 

Superior process design balances the tangibles against the intangibles.

During the initial process design phase, it’s important to balance the desired measurable outcomes for performance, manufacturability and repeatability with the intangible, yet invaluable, variables of human safety and brand reputation .

For example, what is the value of an effective leak detection system in the mining and petroleum industries? The answer lies in in the value placed on human lives and the environment.

And the pharmaceutical industry? Because it’s essential for pharmaceutical companies to guarantee not only the shelf life of their product but also the efficacy of the product’s active ingredients, how valuable are trace gas detection methods to detect pinholes or cracks in packaging?

And, consider the cost to industries such as bioprocessing, food and beverage manufacturing, and environmental analyses. Modern-day, real-time samples can immediately alert manufacturers to problems with yield, quality or consistency, and enable them to alter critical process parameters on the spot. When relying on real-time sampling, entire batches of costly biomaterials or food does not go to waste when quality issues are addressed immediately.

 

It’s not all about the Benjamins.

Of course, cost is also a significant factor in the design equation. But, saving money by sourcing less expensive components can backfire in the long run – by increasing human injury, lowering throughput, producing inferior quality products or damaging your brand reputation. For decades, Mott has worked with original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) to help design customized filtration and flow control components for real-time sampling devices, gas detection devices and a host of other challenging applications. Throughout the years, several of our long-standing clients who initially opted for lower cost suppliers came to us when faced with insurmountable quality or performance issues.

 

The largest avalanche is triggered by the smallest movement.

How often has it happened to you? You design a process and the pilot model performs perfectly…but, when you set out to build the full-scale production model, something gets lost in translation. When you’re scaling from prototype to production and things don’t perform as expected, you need a partner who can help you troubleshoot – to help you stay on time and on budget and to achieve the performance outcomes you expect.

That’s why we rely on statistical process control to measure, monitor and control processes. Six Sigma processes, that result in less than 3.4 defects per million opportunities, have become the norm, not the exception. And, even that number seems high, given the mission critical nature of commercial flight or medical treatment. At Mott, we incorporate multiple inspection points into our manufacturing processes where we digitally track upper and lower specification limits. This not only ensures top quality, but also keeps schedules on track and costs down because any defective product is caught early in the process.

Employing additive manufacturing dramatically increases design flexibility, but also introduces a whole new host of process control parameters. Therefore, to achieve consistent part quality, it’s crucial to monitor critical parameters like powder characteristics, laser function and support structure. Throw in complex fluidic pathways and proprietary capabilities, like porous design for filtration and flow control, and we’re talking varsity-level process control!  Any engineer’s “spidey-senses” will ignite when they see that type of complexity in a single bill-of-material part!

So, whether you’re filtering valuable catalyst from your process, or your satellite needs to flow xenon to thrust it into space, or your sparger has to release the precise amount of nitrogen into your trendy new beverage, the filter or flow control component you choose can critically impact your entire process.

 

A change is gonna come.
One thing is certain – things will change. Whether you’re designing an entirely new process or improving an old one, you’re constantly checking to ensure you’re not only upholding quality standards but also complying with all regulatory and safety standards as they evolve. And, of course, you’re always striving for the ultimate in next generation performance.

As innovators and technologists, one of the biggest sins we commit is not reacting fast enough to new shifts in the market. At this moment, we’re firmly entrenched in Industry 4.0, a new phase in the Industrial Revolution that redefines what’s possible using interconnectivity, automation, machine learning and real-time data.

Industry 4.0 promises dramatically increased speed and accuracy. At the core of Mott’s capabilities is the ability to influence accuracy and precision of automated systems using tried-and-tested modeling of flow control devices and filters. We push the boundaries of kinematic motion by harnessing the power of 3D-printed components to add new features and capabilities to your processes. And we’ll work side-by-side with you to advance your processes and help you lead the market.
We’re more than just the pretty face of filtration and flow control devices.
We understand. When building your process, you’ve got a lot to think about – and the filtration or flow control component is just one small piece of a much grander puzzle. But our engineers at Mott have the know-how and experience to assist with other parts of the process as well. We deal with all types of chemicals and fluidic applications – from precise semiconductor manufacturing applications to incredibly complex aerospace applications to state-of-the-art static mixing applications. Our renowned filtration testing laboratory is at your disposal; take advantage of it to conduct in-depth application analyses and determine your optimal process operating parameters.

Our 3D printing expertise enables us to custom print porous filters and flow control devices in virtually any configuration – and we even produce parts that have both porous and solid components working together.

We’ve successfully partnered with engineers and product managers across hundreds of companies when they were frustrated with trying to adapt off-the-shelf, mass-produced fluid controls into their complex, high-precision, mission-critical products.

We urge you to consider Mott the next time you’re developing a state-of-the-art process that demands consistent, repeatable output with flawless quality. Your product, your reputation and your brand deserve a partner you can count on – today and in the future.

Would you like an innovation partner to help you tackle your next challenge? Contact us today.